Favorite Scene – The Grey (2011)

The favorite scene I chose was from The Grey directed by Joe Carnahan.

The scene takes place just after the protagonists (Ottway – Liam Neeson) friend dies with no way Ottway could have saved him.

The reason I liked this scene so much was because it is the first time in the story he truly realizes he might not survive and for the first time, he prays, this is important since throughout the movie it has been made clear that he doesn’t believe in God. It makes the main character (Ottway) not seem like a bad-ass for the first time in the movie and even makes him look weak, I was so glad they did that because otherwise it would be a movie about a guy with no emotions just being a bad-ass.

Something I was very impressed with in the scene was that with such little dialog and nothing really happening on screen, I was able to sit through it without the tiniest bit of boredom even though the majority of the scene is silent and only contains about 3 different camera shots. Silence is a very hard thing to get right in a movie but in this scene the use of it was perfect.

Overall I didn’t actually like The Grey and if the movie didn’t have this scene in it, I would have thought the whole movie was a waste of time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment